Author Topic: Quantum Vacuum Plasma Drive  (Read 2549 times)

Strait Raider

• It's "Strait", as in the body of water.
Quantum Vacuum Plasma Drive
« on: August 04, 2014, 01:10:41 pm »
http://www.extremetech.com/extreme/187346-nasa-tests-impossible-no-fuel-quantum-space-engine-and-it-actually-works

Obviously, being a very recent and not-yet-reviewed discovery, with very small measurable results, it's very possible this may yet turn out to be malarkey.

Now I'm a skeptical man, but I know enough about quantum mechanics to know that I don't really understand quantum mechanics. I've heard far more bizzare concepts in quantum mechanics that are treated as accepted facts now, so I'll give this one the benefit of the doubt. According to the people smarter than me, the principals that this drive is built on have been well-proven.

As we've established, I'm not an expert in quantum mechanics, but I gather that this is how it works:

You've probably all heard about Heisenberg's 1927 Uncertainty Principle (the more precisely you know the position of a particle, the less precisely you know its momentum). What is less known is the Mandelshtam-Tamm relation for energy and time, discovered in 1945 which relates in a similar method energy and time. (Both principles would later be found to be results of the more general Certainty Principal) For very small measures of time, energy is uncertain, and the conservation of energy can appear to be violated (for a very small period of time).

http://daarb.narod.ru/tcpqa-eng.html

This is Quantum Fluctuation, the temporary change in the amount of energy in space, which allows the spontaneous creation of (short lived) "virtual particle" particle-antiparticle pairs. And while "virtual particle" might be a bit of a misnomer, we know these quantum fluctuations happen, and they produce a measurable effect on the forces in certain experiments.